ACB Events
Bringing you affiliate and special events that have been streamed on the ACBRadio Live and Special Event streams.
November 19, 2021

ACB's Inaugural Audio Description Awards Gala, November 18, 2021

Originally aired on, YouTube, Peacock and ACB Media November 18, 2021

Event Program

November 18, 2021 — 7:30 p.m. ET

About the Event

The inaugural AD Awards Gala celebrates and expands audio description in media. This is a core tenet of the Audio Description Project (ADP), a program of ACB. Proceeds from this event support the ADP, which works each day to further audio description across a wide range of visual media. We are deeply grateful for the enormous level of support that made this inaugural event a success. For information on this year’s gala and upcoming events, visit

Special Thanks To Our Sponsors

Silver Star Sponsors

Comcast/NBC Universal Time Warner Media

Bronze Star Sponsors

American Printing House Spectrum Viacom-CBS Streaming

Program Credits

A Doug Roland Films Production Edited by Cameron Taddeo Hosted by Thomas Reid of Reid My Mind Radio Podcast

Special Guests in Order of Appearance

Dan Spoone, President, ACB Will Butler, Gala Chair and VP for Community, Be My Eyes Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Co-Founder of ADP and President of Audio Description Associates LLC Kim Charlson, Past President of ACB and ADP Co-Chair Barry Cronin, Retired, WGBH Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair Roy Samuelson, Voice Actor Simran Sethi, EVP for Development and Content Strategy, ABC Entertainment Satauna Howery, Voice Actor Charlie Cox, Actor Heather Dowdy, Senior Program Manager for AI and Accessibility, Netflix Conchita Hernandez Legorreta, Educator and Advocate Orissa Castellano Rodriguez, Executive Director, Canal 22 Tony Stephens, Director of Development, ACB Eric Bridges, Executive Director, ACB Petr Kucheryavyy, Senior Manager for Accessibility, Spectrum Amhed Fareed, Commentator, NBC Sports Lex Gillette, Paralympian Molly Solomon, EP & President, NBC Olympics Production Jason Momoa, Actor Nesta Cooper, Actor Christian Camargo, Actor Sarah Herrlinger, Senior Director of Global Accessibility Policy & Initiatives, Apple Kurt Warner, NFL Hall of Fame Quarterback Brenda Warner, Spouse Zachary Levi, Actor Sumaira Latif, Accessibility Leader, Procter & Gamble Marc Pritchard, CMO, Procter & Gamble Blake Stadnik, Actor

Technical Production

AD Narration by Nefertiti Matos Olivares Audio description provided by Audio Description Associates, LLC Sound editing by Chris Snyder Captioning provided by Vitac

Special thanks to the following organizations who assisted in technical production and securing clips for the event:

130 Agency, ABC Entertainment, the Academy Awards, Apple, Audio Description Associates, Canal 22, Dicapta Foundation, Netflix, NBC-Universal, Peacock, Procter & Gamble, Spectrum and WGBH.

And to the following individuals:

Zachary Levi, Jason Momoa, Blake Stadnik, Kurt and Brenda Warner.

AD Awards Planning Committee

Will Butler, Gala Chair, Be My Eyes Kim Charlson, ADP Co-Chair Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair Matt Atter, Vispero Angela Ball, Comcast John Cavanaugh, Bridge Multimedia Maria Victoria Diaz, Ph.D., Dicapta Foundation Paul Schroeder, American Printing House Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Audio Description Associates, LLC and ADP Founder/Sr. Consultant Joe Strechay, Producer

Audio Description Awards Committee

Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Chair, Audio Description Associates, LLC and ADP Founder/Sr. Consultant Will Butler, Gala Chair, Be My Eyes Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair Maria Victoria Diaz, Ph.D., Dicapta Foundation Satauna Howery, Voice Actor Diane Johnson, Descriptive Video Works Steering Committee Roy Samuelson, Voice Actor Wendy Sapp, Bridge Multimedia Margo Tone, Keywords

Additional thanks to the following for sharing of time, talents and resources:

Audio Description Associates, LLC, Bridge Multimedia, Dicapta Foundation, Vitac, Vispero, and Woman of Her Word.

ACB Support Staff

Jo Lynn Bailey-Page Fred Brack Nancy Marks-Becker Eric Bridges Nancy Feela Jennifer Flatt Kelly Gasque Cindy Hollis Erika Keller Sharon Lovering Rick Morin Clark Rachfal Tony Stephens

For more information go to:

Find out more at

This podcast is powered by Pinecast. Try Pinecast for free, forever, no credit card required. If you decide to upgrade, use coupon code r-af0929 for 40% off for 4 months, and support ACB Events.